Director’s Chair Top 10

Here are our top 10 songs to get kids moving and learning.  Starting lessons with dance and movement is a great way for kids to release energy and pick up some vocabulary along the way.

1.    I like to Move it

A high-paced, energetic song with an entertaining video.  An absolute favourite in my classes.

While the vocabulary that the children pick up is limited to “I like to move it, move it” they love to do just that.  If you have a large classroom or studio type space let them run around, try out their craziest dance moves or even break-dance.  The video could also be used to go over jungle animals.

2.    Black Lace – Superman

This 80s classic takes me back to my childhood.  It’s a great song for associating action words with movement.  Children love following the completely random dance moves…clap your hands, sleep, wave your hands, hitch a ride, go for a walk, swim, ski, spray, MACHO MAN!!

3.    I Wanna be like you – Jungle book

Oh, oobee doo…I wanna be like you, I wanna walk like you, Talk like you, too.  You can’t help but dance and scat along.  Possibly best Disney track ever, although I’m open to debate

4 What I Am – Will.I.Am

What do you get when you cross Will.I.Am and Sesame Street? Ummm…this video.    In true Sesame Street Style, Will, Big Bird, Elmo et al sing about what makes us each unique and special.  Full of lots of positive, character adjectives (proud, friendly, helpful etc)

5.    In The Jungle, The Mighty Jungle

This hilarious video goes well alongside animal vocabulary.  Try and copy the dog’s dance moves whilst singing along

6.    You Are My Sunshine

My Nan sang this lullaby to me when I was a child so it has a particular resonance.  The 6 and 7 year olds that I teach can manage the first verse and it goes well when teaching the weather

7.    One Finger, One Thumb, Keep Moving

A great warm-up track.  Good for silly dancing but also reinforces useful instructions like stand-up and sit-down

8. Heads, Shoulders, Knees and Toes

No introduction necessary.  Useful for new classes as children know it.

9.    Scary Skeleton

This song is courtesy of the British Council.  It is great for consolidating body parts.  On their website they have the video and resources to make your own skeleton.  This video is Director’s Chair’s version.

10. Mahna Mahna

“The question is, what is a Mahna Mahna?”

“The question is, who cares?”

Ok so this song doesn’t actually include any English but it is a great way to break the ice with any new class.

Ok, so there you have it, our Top 10 tracks! We hope you like them.  If you think there are any songs that should have made the top 10 then please leave a comment! ENJOY!!

6 responses to “Director’s Chair Top 10

  1. Hello! Thanks for following me! I’m currently teaching little kids. My 5 year old students also love Madagascar theme song I like to move it and they enjoy a lot 5 little monkeys, down in the jungle… The other day we made a choreography for gangnam style following the TPR method. They loved it! I’ll check your blog whenever I have time! keep on touch!

    Sara

    • Thanks for commenting. I’ve not heard of the TPR method?! I’ll give 5 little monkeys a go when the kids start back in September and i’ll let you know how it goes.
      I look forward to exchanging more lesson ideas in the future.
      Caroline

  2. Pingback: 33rd ELT Carnival : A Journey in TEFL

  3. Dear Caroline,
    This is a great list of fun songs. Thank you for sharing your ideas. It is good to see some ideas for Young Learners on the 33rd Blog Carnival.
    Best,
    http://www.merveoflaz.net

  4. The TPR method or Total Physical Response it is a method in which kids learn through movement. My kids learn mostly through games, songs and action dynamics. I barely do worksheets with them. They pick up the language in a natural way and they enjoy a lot. I recommend you to read a Little bit about this method because it is awesome. It Works perfect with very Young learners. My blog is not about this method as I studied for teaching teenagers so it focuses more on active learning, another interesting methodology but as I teach kids too my blog will become a mixture of both! 🙂

  5. Madagascar is one of my favorite cartoons. The Song I like to move it is very catchy with the kids. I’m going to download videos and music from your list. Disney songs are also a hit with the kids. You can never go wrong with Disney.

Leave a Reply

